So I have this horror film class, and today we watched this Japanese film entitled Suicide Circle. Prior to watching the movie, I took the liberty of checking out how the critiques in Rotten Tomatoes ranked it. I was disappointed to find out that it had a mere 50% rating. True enough, when the day came, our professor told us that it was a love-it-or-hate-it situation with this movie. I decided then to give it a chance and figured that maybe I could be part of the half who would love it, as I have a slight appreciation for experimental films. The film ended, however, and I couldn’t really express what I felt about the said film. I didn’t love it, but neither did I hate it. It did, nevertheless, affect me in a way that I can’t put into words. Depressed is a part of it, but there’s more to it than just being depressed. It was more a mix of depression, sadness, hopelessness and a whole lot more. All I can say was that I was truly disturbed. I have watched a number of disturbing films like Salo (100 Days of Sodom) and the current fad, A Serbian Film, which was really human cruelty in its purest sense. The Suicide Circle wasn’t even THAT gory, and there were some parts wherein the blood looked really fake or the movie turned comedic, but there was something in this movie that gets under my skin, and I can’t just put my finger on what exactly it is.

I write this article now because I really needed to get it out of my system. Suicide Circle isn’t the conventional type of horror. Honestly, the only part I could distinguish as horror was the first part. After watching the movie I had this weird feeling and I’ve been thinking about what the film’s message is. However, I’m still confused as to how exactly I would perceive it.  Japanese films have always been crazy and out of this world, but this is a whole different level of crazy. I guess in some way, it worked as a horror film because I want all the images of the movie out of my head, since thinking about it gives me the creeps. It’s a good watch in a sense that it’s philosophical and it makes you think, but if I was suicidal and I stumbled upon this movie, I probably would have ended my life halfway through it. Fortunately, I am not, and I still live long enough to write this entry and sane enough to care about things. But truth be told, the movie didn’t help my sanity in any way at all. If you’re into these experimental films, though, I recommend you watch this movie. It’s 2 hours of pure mindfuck. Maybe more than that, if you consider how you’re going to be thinking about it afterwards.

