I’ve been on an American Idol fever since I first watched Season 11’s auditions. Ever since the auditions, one contestant stood out for me- Colton Dixon. There are a lot of factors surrounding this. First off, he didn’t plan on auditioning because he didn’t make it through last season. He was just there to support his sister, but the judges urged him to audition anyway. And here he is. Now one of the Top 7 finalists of the season. He has an incredible voice and a very edgy sense of style. Also, he has that hair and those eyes that pierce deep into your soul even if you’re just watching him on TV.

But it wasn’t just his musical abilities or good looks that caught my attention. As the weeks passed, he showed more and more of who he is, and a big part of who he is as a person is his religion. What makes him resonate with me more is the fact that he makes me rethink religion. The Philippines observes Holy Week every year, and it has just come to an end as I write this entry. I saw people parading on the streets holding statues, carrying crosses, but what then? What does their life look like after this labeled extended weekend? Masks will be taken off, and people will not be as holy as they act. I feel like Colton is the opposite of this, the perfect example of a true Christian- he lives and breathes his religion and dedicates his life to God. Proof of that can be witnessed in this performance.

Sadly, a lot of people I see aren’t like that, as we’ve read in a lot of posts circulating Facebook. This is also why for the past months, I’ve taken a backseat on my religion. I wanted to find out who I really am and who I wanted to be. Once in your life, you’ll find someone who will inspire you to be better. For me, that person is Colton. His conviction inspires me to think about what it really is to be a Christian. Hopefully, I will be able to take this reflection and actually apply it to my life. I’ve always been a fan of honesty, and as my good friend Nikki said, there isn’t much truth in people’s lives these days. I don’t want to be that way. I want to be true to other people, to myself and, hopefully, true to God.

