These past few days have been really unproductive. All I’ve been doing is eating, watching TV, and listening to random music. The life of a true bum- not that I’m complaining though. During the hell months that made up my last semester in the university, this was all I was asking for, and I’m not about to whine as soon as I got it. It has its perks. I can do whatever I want whenever I want. And soon enough, I will sink my teeth into the “real world”, as they call it. I’m gonna have to choose what job I want to take and let it pave the way for my future, as cheesy as it may sound.

Now before I get into all that talk about the future, I shall scoot over to the main topic of this blog post, which is the song “Shake It Out” by Florence + the Machine. I always hear this playing on MTV before, but it finally stole my attention when I heard Glee’s rendition of it. I can feel the judgment people will give me with this statement. :)) But what can I say, the Glee version of this song was good! Santana’s my favorite of all them and she was the frontrunner for this song. Also, we get to hear Tina’s voice again! I haven’t been watching Glee this season, but I catch it on the telly sometimes. So happened that it was the episode they sang this. So ya’ll won’t judge me, watch and hear it for yourself. 🙂

For comparison, here’s the original music video that has a haunted yet whimsical feel to it. I totally appreciate how artsy the video is, and how everything connects with the lyrics of the song.

I guess the Glee version made me rethink this song because it was acoustic and it was the first time I really listened to the lyrics. I am a sucker for good lyrics. Not to mention the enchanting way Florence Welch’s soothing voice lulls you into another dimension, which I noticed when I finally downloaded the song. The song entered my life at the perfect moment, when I can really relate to it.

Regrets collect like old friends
Here to relive your darkest moments
I can see no way, I can see no way
And all of the ghouls come out to play

And every demon wants his pound of flesh
But I like to keep some things to myself
I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn

I, too, have demons that drag me down. But it’s time that I face them and finally free myself from their ball and chain.

