Tags

, , , , , , ,

Once in a while you come across a unique artist who sounds great in the studio and sounds even better live. An example of this is Ed Sheeran. I’ve been addicted to him since I first watched the video for Lego House. Much like everyone else, I got curious as to whether Ron Weasley really had an album now, only to discover the genius behind the song is his fellow Brit and redhead, Ed Sheeran. I researched about him and immediately fell in love. His songs and lyrics are so raw and pure and touching. He’s been gaining popularity in the US recently, being featured on Perez TV, on the soundtrack of The Vampire Diaries, and is also said to have an upcoming collaboration with no other than the amazing Taylor Swift herself. Now that’s something I’m looking forward to! Anyway, if you’re wondering why I’m so loca about this guy, here are my reasons:

1. He’s crazily talented.
2. He writes his own lyrics, and does a great job at it.
3. He has his own unique sound.
4. He raps.
5. He’s a redhead!

I’m really a sucker for musicians who add a unique twist to their music. For me, it’s like their own personal touch to the songs they create, and it gives you a glimpse of their personality. I am also aware that there are only so many notes you can play, so sounding different really makes an artist stand out from the rest because it means that the artist really gave a lot of thought into what he created.

Here’s one of Ed Sheeran’s songs called “Kiss Me”, which he sang acoustic on Perez TV.

I’ve fallen for your eyes, but they don’t know me yet.

Got you falling in love too, didn’t it? Here’s another song with a sadder message, but definitely one of my favorites from the album.

‘You are my one and only. You can wrap your fingers round my thumb and hold me tight.

This was what I was talking about when I said that his lyrics were so raw and pure. It just catches you off guard and sends you swirling with several different emotions. Now that’s the mark of a truly great artist, and that’s also how a certain redhead stole my heart.

