Tags

, , , , ,

I know this is supposed to be a fashion blog, but recently I’ve been getting swallowed by abnormal work hours and thus, by the time I get home, there’s no energy left to take outfit photos. On the other hand, my friends and I have taken up a 365 day challenge. I’ve been posting a little of my poetry here before, but now I’ve created a new avenue for it, specifically for this project alone. You can check out my 365-day project here but in the meanwhile, I want to share with you a poem that my friend Lexis wrote. It’s called On Falling.

On Falling

She was counting scars from childhood
accidents and new ones
when she thought of giving up,
thinking how like drops of blood, bodies
are as frail, breaking in one fall.

Looking at stars, I thought:
everything is dead out there, but you and I

falling into each other,
we’re still here.

This generation has an absurd idea of poetry. Now, poetry is but a number of rhyme schemes and the abstract formation of words by our forefathers that we can never understand. Few people nowadays appreciate the art of poetry, and it really makes me happy to see people my age write them. So, if you write yourself or if you have a favorite poem/s, please do share them with me as I’d be really glad to read them.

P.S. What do you think of my friend’s poem? Spill your thoughts in the comments below!

